Eurovision 2012 Finale in Azerbaijan Airs Tomorrow

By Stephen Fuchs on Email @StephenWFuchs

Since 1956, 25 European countries compete every year for the Eurovision Song Contest.  Over the years it has become the world’s largest non-sporting live TV event seen by hundreds of millions of people all across Europe.  Two years ago, Germany won the competition with Lena’s “Satellite” and held the contest in Düsseldorf in 2011.  Last years winning song came from Azerbaijan, so the final contest heads there tomorrow night (May 26) where Germany will be competing to gain another win.  Germany’s song is “Standing Still” sung by Roman Lob, and it definitely has some potential.

So how can you catch the live broadcast here in the US?  Eurovision has been pretty good on providing a live stream of the final on their website without having any out of country restrictions.  The show starts at 21:00 CET which is 3pm ET/2pm CT and runs for 3.5 hours.  If you are interested in watching the world’s largest non-sporting live TV event, head on over to http://www.eurovision.tv/esctv/future at the correct time.  While you wait, check out the music video for Germany’s competition song below.

 

Photo: Elke Roels (EBU)

Stephen Fuchs
Stephen founded German Pulse and LGBT Germany out of a passion to introduce Americans to a Germany that goes beyond beer and polka (although with enough beer he has been known to polka it up a bit). He's a coffee addict, lover of wine and good times, a hit in the kitchen and editor of TV commercials. You can follow him on Twitter (@StephenWFuchs) to find out a lot more.
Stephen Fuchs on EmailStephen Fuchs on LinkedinStephen Fuchs on Twitter